Cumberland Council – Local Citizen of the Year Award nominations open

Written by on 16 October 2019

Mayor for Cumberland Steve Christou is calling for nominations for the region’s Local Citizen of the Year Awards.

“In Cumberland, we are known for rolling up our sleeves, working together and getting behind a worthy cause for the common good – this is what makes us strong as a community,” Mayor Christou said.

“The Local Citizen of the Year Awards recognise and honour those people who selflessly devote their time and energy to aking Cumberland, Australia’s next great community.

“Last year’s awards attracted a strong and diverse field of entries and shone a light on outstanding individuals who are making Cumberland a community that is intrinsically better.

“Please nominate someone you think is worthy of this recognition.”

The winners will be named on Australia Day 2020 across four different categories:

  • Local Citizen of the Year
  • Local Senior Citizen of the Year
  • Local Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Pride Award (individual)
  • Community Pride Award (school/group/organisation)

Last year’s Local Citizen of the Year award winner, Dr Chandrika Subramaniyan, is a successful lawyer, author and community leader who sets aside time each week to provide free legal advice to recently arrived migrants and refugees.

Simaima Taufa Simaima was named as last year’s Young Citizen of the Year. She is a former Two Blues Rugby Union player who made the switch to Rugby League in 2014. She was awarded the prestigious Dally M Female Player of the Year in 2017 and was part of the Women’s Rugby League World Cup winning side in the same year.

Simaima has strong ties with the local community and consistently donates her time for initiatives like Creating Chances and the NRL’s Voice Against Violence program.

Nominations forms and criteria are available online at

Nominations for the 2020 awards are open and will close on 8 December 2019.

Current track